SocketLabs Review 2026: Nineteen Years Independent, Then Infobip

The Best: Cheapest bundled dedicated IP in this corpus, at $89.95 a month

The Worst: No free tier at all, and nine verticals refused by name in the AUP

G2G2 4.5/5 (41 reviews)
|
CCapterra 4.5/5 (13 reviews)
|
Trustpilot N/A (listing not retrievable) Rare agreement across sources
At a glance Official SocketLabs documentation and Infobip press release, verified 14 September 2026 · G2 and Capterra swept the same day
LevelIntermediate, developer-facing
Best forTeams that want a dedicated IP and a phone number, not a free tier
Strongest pointDedicated IP included at the second tier, and humans who answer
Weakest pointNo permanent free plan, and a new owner who has said nothing
Ban toleranceLow (nine verticals banned by name)
OwnershipInfobip, since 9 July 2026
PromotionalConsent-gated
TransactionalYes
AutomationNo
APIYes
SMTP RelayYes
MCPNone

TL;DR: should you still use SocketLabs in 2026?

SocketLabs is a relay for people who have been burned by shared IP pools and want a phone number when something goes wrong. It gives you a dedicated IP at $89.95/mo, a deliverability analytics layer built over nineteen years, and support that both review sites single out by name. It is also the only platform in this family with no permanent free tier, which makes it the hardest one to try before you commit.

The pricing is unusual and worth reading twice. Core is $0 for one month, then $39.95/mo for 40,000 emails. Pro 100k is $89.95/mo for 100,000 emails and folds in a dedicated IP that Mailgun bills as a $59/mo add-on. That makes SocketLabs expensive at the bottom and competitive in the middle, which is the exact inverse of how this category usually prices.

The thing to know before you commit: Infobip acquired SocketLabs on 9 July 2026. Two months on, the announcement still says nothing about pricing, brand, product roadmap or customer transition. Nothing has changed yet. Nothing has been promised either.

Our take If your problem is deliverability and your budget starts above $40/mo, SocketLabs answers it better than most, and the dedicated IP at the second tier is the single best value in this comparison. If you need to send a hundred emails a month, or you need an automation surface, or you sell into any of the nine verticals its acceptable use policy names, look elsewhere before you integrate.

The context you need before evaluating SocketLabs in 2026

On 9 July 2026, Infobip announced it had acquired SocketLabs. Terms were not disclosed. Silvio Kutic, chief executive of Infobip, framed the logic: combined with what we already do, this makes us the only provider that can sit across a customer’s entire email operation, not just be a part of it. Tim Moore, chief executive of SocketLabs, called it the natural next step in a journey we started nearly 20 years ago.

What Infobip bought is specific, and it explains the shape of the product you will use. SocketLabs spent two decades building vendor-agnostic observability and intelligent routing, which means tooling that watches email you send through other providers, not only through SocketLabs. That is the Spotlight analytics product, sold separately. It is also the reason a communications platform with its own sending infrastructure wanted this company rather than a cheaper relay.

Now the part the press release does not cover. It contains no statement about customer transition, brand, pricing, or product roadmap. Two months later, the pricing page is unchanged and the service runs as before. Every acquisition in this corpus eventually reaches the customer: Mailchimp under Intuit raised prices roughly 30 percent, Mailjet and Mailgun under Sinch were merged into one ladder, Postmark under ActiveCampaign kept its independence and its scores. SocketLabs is at the start of that arc, not the end.

What this means for a decision you make this week

Nothing about the service has degraded, and nothing suggests it will. But an integration you build today sits on a product whose new owner has not yet said what it plans to do with it. If you are choosing between SocketLabs and a platform with a stable owner, that uncertainty is a real input, and it is the one input no feature comparison will show you.

Snapshot

ProductSocketLabs, acquired by Infobip 9 July 2026, founded circa 2007, Wayne, Pennsylvania
CategoryTransactional email relay and deliverability analytics
Best forSenders who need a dedicated IP and reachable support without enterprise pricing
Not forLow-volume senders, marketers needing automation, and affiliate marketers, lead generation, gambling, payday loans and debt collection, all banned by name
Starting price 2026$39.95/mo (Core), after $0 for the first month
Free planNone. One free month of Core, then billing starts
Core40,000 emails/mo, overage $0.00130 per email, 10-day insight history
Pro 100k$89.95/mo, 100,000 emails, overage $0.00110, dedicated IP included, 30-day insight history
APIREST injection API plus official libraries and a WordPress plugin
MCP supportNone. No official server, and no community project either
SMTP relaysmtp.socketlabs.com
Ports587 STARTTLS, 465 implicit SSL, 25 and 2525 unencrypted
Firewall range142.0.176.0/20. The IP behind the hostname changes frequently, do not hardcode it
G2 rating4.5 / 5 on 41 reviews
Capterra rating4.5 / 5 on 13 reviews, ease 4.4, support 4.4
Trustpilot ratingNot retrievable. A listing exists and refused every read on 14 September 2026
Deliverability toolingStreamScore on every plan, StreamMonitor and Rule Engine on Enterprise

What SocketLabs does well

A dedicated IP at the second tier, which nobody else does at this price

Pro 100k costs $89.95/mo and includes a dedicated IP address. Price that against the family. Mailgun sells a dedicated IP as a $59/mo add-on and only bundles one from the 100k tier upward. SendGrid puts dedicated IPs on Pro. Amazon SES charges for a managed dedicated IP separately. Getting the IP folded into a $89.95 plan is the single best line item in this review, and it is the reason the platform exists for people who care about reputation isolation.

Support that both review sites single out, with a phone number

Capterra scores customer service 4.4 / 5. G2 reviewers cite responsive support with phone availability, which is close to extinct in transactional email. Postmark scores 6.5 on support in this corpus and is considered good. SocketLabs is scored higher, and the two independent review populations agree on why.

Deliverability tooling that predates the category

StreamScore ships on every plan including Core, StreamMonitor and the Rule Engine on Enterprise. This is not a dashboard bolted on last year. It is the asset Infobip bought: nineteen years of vendor-agnostic observability, tooling that reads email you send through other providers. Most relays tell you what they delivered. This one was built to tell you what everyone delivered.

Four ports, published, including the two that unblock a stuck firewall

The relay is smtp.socketlabs.com on 587 with STARTTLS, 465 with implicit SSL, and 25 and 2525 unencrypted. Publishing 2525 matters more than it sounds: it is the port that works when a hosting provider blocks 587, and several platforms in this corpus do not offer it. The documentation also states the CIDR range 142.0.176.0/20 and warns that the IP behind the hostname changes frequently, which is the kind of operational honesty that saves an afternoon.

Nineteen years, and customers who say so

One G2 reviewer opens with our company has been using SocketLabs since 2012. In a category where half the names in this directory have been acquired, rebranded or shut down since 2020, a platform that the same customer has run for over a decade is evidence of something a feature table cannot show.

Where SocketLabs falls short

There is no free tier, and the first month is a trial, not a plan

Core is advertised as $0 for the first month, then $39.95/mo. There is no permanent free allowance of any kind. Compare: Postmark gives 100 emails/mo free forever, Mailgun 100/day, SMTP2GO 1,000/mo, Resend 3,000/mo. If you are building a side project, prototyping, or sending password resets for a product with forty users, SocketLabs has no offer for you at all.

The entry price is the highest in the family, and the unit economics invert at volume

At $39.95 for 40,000 emails you pay $1.00 per 1,000. At $89.95 for 100,000 you pay $0.90 per 1,000, and that includes the dedicated IP. So the product is expensive to start and reasonable to scale, which is the opposite of how the category normally behaves and the opposite of what a quick pricing-page glance suggests. If your volume is under 40,000/mo, you are paying for headroom you will not use.

There is no automation surface, and that is by design

No sequences, no journeys, no behavioural triggers, no segmentation engine. The Rule Engine on Enterprise routes and transforms messages, which is infrastructure, not marketing. This is correct for a relay and it is still a gap if you arrived here thinking the platform would replace an ESP. It will not, and it does not claim to.

No MCP server, official or community

Searched on 14 September 2026: there is no SocketLabs MCP server published by the company, and unlike Substack or SendGrid, no community project either. The REST API and the official libraries are real and documented, so an agent can be wired up by hand. Nothing is prebuilt.

Reporting retention is short, and it is a paywall

Core keeps 10 days of insight history and 90 days of performance history. Pro extends those to 30 and 180 days. G2 reviewers name limited retention as a recurring complaint. If you investigate a delivery incident three weeks after it happened, on Core the data is already gone.

A new owner with no published plan

Infobip has said what it gains. It has not said what SocketLabs customers keep. No commitment on brand, on pricing, on the standalone product, or on the Pennsylvania team. That is normal two months after a deal and it is still an unresolved variable in a decision you are making today.

What real users actually say

How we read the reviews for this platform This section carries no frequency counts. SocketLabs has 41 reviews on G2 and 13 on Capterra, and its Trustpilot listing refused every retrieval attempt on 14 September 2026. There is no corpus of 200 recent reviews to cluster, so we name the themes and their source rather than invent a percentage.

What users praise

  • Reliability – uptime and consistent inbox placement, the most repeated theme
  • Setup speedit just works, the setup was a breeze
  • Support with a phone – named on both G2 and Capterra
  • Longevity – customers reporting continuous use since 2012
  • Reporting depth – while the retention window lasts

What users criticise

  • Dated interfacenot as pretty as SendGrid
  • Short data retention – 10 days of insight on the entry plan
  • One set of SMTP credentials – no multiple credentials per account
  • Weak tools for non-technical users – composition is not the point here
  • Bounce rates during trial – a minority report on Capterra

The mixed cluster is the acceptable use policy, and it is the most instructive thing in the review set. A 0 out of 5 G2 review reports an account suspended without perceived warning. SocketLabs replied publicly, citing an AUP violation. Both parties are describing the same event correctly. The policy is published, specific and strict; the sender did not read it; the suspension followed. That single exchange tells you more about operating on this platform than the 4.5 average does, and it is why the account risk section below exists.

Ratings breakdown

Six categories, scored 1 to 10, arithmetic mean for overall. The right-hand column names the platform we would recommend instead if that criterion is the one that matters to you.

CategoryRatingBest alternative for this
Ease of setup
Hostname, ports, first send
7.5Resend if you want the modern developer onboarding
Automation
Sequences, triggers, segmentation
4.0Brevo, which runs marketing and transactional on one bill
Deliverability
Reputation control, analytics, dedicated IP
8.5Postmark at 9.0, the only one scored higher
Support
Reachability, response time, phone
7.5SocketLabs is among the best in this corpus for support
Pricing value
Entry cost and cost per thousand
5.5Amazon SES below 40k, SMTP2GO for a real free tier
API and MCP
Developer experience, agent support
6.0Postmark at 9.5, with 24 MCP tools
Overall6.5Above Mailchimp at 6.3, below Postmark at 7.1
How we score Six categories, identical on every platform on this site so the numbers stay comparable. Three fixed anchors hold the scale still: Benchmark Email at 5.7, Mailchimp at 6.3 and Brevo at 7.7. SocketLabs at 6.5 has to survive two sentences: better than Mailchimp, below Postmark. On deliverability control and support it is clearly ahead of Mailchimp. On API surface and entry price it is clearly behind Postmark. Both hold.

Who should use SocketLabs, and who should not

Recommended if

  • You send between 40,000 and 500,000 emails a month and reputation isolation matters. The dedicated IP at $89.95 is the best-priced one in this comparison
  • You have been burned by a shared pool and want analytics that explain placement rather than just report opens
  • You want to reach a human. Phone support on a transactional relay is rare, and two independent review populations confirm it works
  • Your firewall blocks 587. Port 2525 is published and supported, which several platforms here do not offer

Look elsewhere if

  • You send under 40,000 a month. There is no free tier and no smaller plan. Postmark, SMTP2GO and Resend all have one
  • You need automation. No sequences, no journeys, no segmentation. This is a relay
  • You operate in one of the nine banned verticals. See the account risk section below, and read it before integrating, not after
  • You need an MCP server today. There is not one, official or community

Ban policy and account risk

Account risk: Low tolerance. Nine verticals refused by name. The SocketLabs acceptable use policy, effective 13 May 2024, refuses service outright to: payday loans, debt collection, gambling, affiliate marketing, get rich quick, Ponzi or pyramid schemes, work from home or make money online opportunities, day trading or penny stocks, any other lead sales or lead generation, and email data brokers or email list purchasing.

That list is longer and more explicit than Mailchimp’s, which names affiliate marketing and leaves much of the rest to interpretation. SocketLabs names nine.

The list requirement is equally direct: you may not send email to addresses or lists that have been obtained from a third party. Consent must be affirmative, given directly to you, and you must retain evidence of each recipient’s consent in a form that can be promptly produced on request, including the date, time and place of the consent and if the consent was given online, the recipients IP address. Very few platforms in this corpus ask for the IP address of the opt-in.

The address acquisition guidance is more useful than most legal pages because it lists both sides. Prohibited: purchased or rented lists, scraped lists, any list you did not generate yourself, false opt-in where the marketing consent was not disclosed, and addresses harvested from social media contacts. Acceptable: true opt-in with clear disclosure, trade show badge scans, incentivised opt-in, survey and call centre opt-in, checkout opt-in, endorsement opt-in, and download opt-in.

Enforcement is discretionary and the policy says so: services may be suspended or terminated for violation of this AUP, and SocketLabs reserves the sole and absolute right to interpret, apply, define and implement it. The public G2 exchange described above is that clause in action: an account suspended, a reviewer surprised, and a vendor response pointing at a policy that was published the whole time.

Third-party validation

SourceScoreVolumeNotes
G24.5 / 541 reviewsReliability, setup speed and phone support recur. One 0/5 on an AUP suspension, answered publicly by the vendor
Capterra4.5 / 513 reviewsEase of use 4.4, customer service 4.4. Listed as SocketLabs Email On Demand
TrustpilotN/An/aNot retrieved. A listing exists and ranks second on the brand query, and refused every read attempt on 14 September 2026. No score is published here rather than an estimate
Crozdesk4.5 / 541 votesThird independent source, same score as G2 and Capterra

Scores collected on 14 September 2026.

Why do the ratings agree, for once? This is the rare fiche where the sources converge instead of diverging: 4.5 on G2, 4.5 on Capterra, 4.5 on Crozdesk. Our usual explanation for divergence is that G2 collects people rating features while Trustpilot collects people who lived through a billing incident. Here the Trustpilot population is simply missing from the record, so the agreement is real but partial: three sources of the same kind agreeing is one data point, not three. The G2 suspension review is the only visible voice from the population that had a bad experience, and it is the one worth reading in full before you sign up.

Top 3 alternatives

Our score: 7.1/10

The better choice below 40,000/mo and for anyone who wants an API first. 100 emails/mo free forever, deliverability scored 9.0 here, and 24 MCP tools against none.

Our score: 5.9/10

The direct comparison on dedicated IPs, and the one SocketLabs wins on price: Mailgun bills the IP at $59/mo extra below its 100k tier. Mailgun answers back with an EU region SocketLabs does not offer.

Our score: 7.5/10

The relay to try first if you want to test before paying: 1,000 emails/mo free, and the highest-scored relay in this corpus.

Continue reading

The transactional benchmark of this site, scored on the same six axes.

The other relay where a dedicated IP is the decision, priced differently.

How to wire the unsubscribe header and footer on a relay that enforces consent evidence.

Verdict

SocketLabs is a specialist that never tried to be a platform, and nineteen years later that looks like judgement rather than a failure to expand. It does one thing, relays email with a reputation you control, and it sells the two things that actually determine whether that works: a dedicated IP and a person on the phone. The dedicated IP at $89.95 is the best-priced line in this comparison, and it is not close.

The cost of that focus is the bottom of the funnel. There is no free tier, no small plan, and no way to try it on a side project. At $39.95 minimum, a platform with genuinely good deliverability tooling has priced itself out of every evaluation that starts with let me send a test. That is a choice, and it is the main reason this scores 6.5 rather than higher.

And then there is July. Infobip now owns this company, said what it gained, and said nothing about what customers keep. Nothing has changed. Nothing has been promised. If you sign today, sign knowing that the answer to what happens to SocketLabs exists somewhere inside Infobip and has not been published yet.

6.5OUT OF 10
See SocketLabs pricing →

Frequently asked questions

How much does SocketLabs cost?

Core is $0 for the first month and $39.95/mo after that, for 40,000 emails, with overage at $0.00130 per email. Pro 100k is $89.95/mo for 100,000 emails, overage $0.00110, and includes a dedicated IP. Enterprise starts at 1M+ emails a month and is quoted by sales.

What is SocketLabs and what services does it provide?

An email delivery platform founded around 2007 in Wayne, Pennsylvania, offering an SMTP relay, a REST injection API, deliverability analytics under the StreamScore and StreamMonitor names, and a separately sold analytics product called Spotlight that monitors email sent through other providers. It is not a marketing platform and has no automation surface.

Is SocketLabs free?

No. The first month of Core is free, then billing begins at $39.95/mo. There is no permanent free allowance, which makes SocketLabs the only relay in this corpus without one. Postmark, SMTP2GO and Resend all offer free tiers that never expire.

What are the SocketLabs SMTP settings?

The hostname is smtp.socketlabs.com. Ports are 587 with STARTTLS, 465 with implicit SSL, and 25 and 2525 unencrypted. Whitelist the range 142.0.176.0/20 rather than a single address: the documentation warns that the IP behind the hostname changes frequently.

Does SocketLabs have an API?

Yes. A REST injection API with official client libraries and a WordPress plugin published on GitHub. There is no MCP server, neither official nor community-built, checked on 14 September 2026, so an agent integration has to be wired against the REST API by hand.

Does SocketLabs include a dedicated IP?

Yes, from the Pro 100k plan at $89.95/mo. That is the cheapest bundled dedicated IP in this comparison: Mailgun charges $59/mo as an add-on until its own 100k tier.

Does SocketLabs allow affiliate marketing?

No. Affiliate marketing is refused by name in the acceptable use policy, alongside payday loans, debt collection, gambling, get rich quick schemes, work from home offers, day trading, lead generation and email list purchasing. Sending to any list obtained from a third party is also prohibited outright.

SocketLabs vs SendGrid: which should I choose?

SendGrid is larger, has a marketing suite billed separately, and reviewers say it looks more modern. SocketLabs answers the phone, bundles a dedicated IP at $89.95, and has no free tier where SendGrid removed its own in July 2025. If the decision is reputation control and support, SocketLabs. If it is ecosystem and integrations, SendGrid.

What happens to SocketLabs now that Infobip owns it?

Unknown, and that is the honest answer. The acquisition was announced on 9 July 2026 with terms undisclosed. The announcement contains no commitment on brand, pricing, product roadmap or customer transition. As of 14 September 2026 the pricing page is unchanged and the service operates as before.

Changelog

  • 2026-09-14 First publication. Six-axis scoring against the Benchmark Email 5.7, Mailchimp 6.3 and Brevo 7.7 anchors. Pricing, ports, API and policy verified against SocketLabs documentation on this date. FAQ built from People Also Ask questions rather than search volume, because every derived query for this brand measures at or below 20 per month.
  • 2026-07-09 Infobip announces the acquisition of SocketLabs. Terms undisclosed. No statement on brand, pricing, roadmap or customer transition.
  • 2024-05-13 Acceptable use policy effective date. Nine verticals refused by name, third-party lists prohibited, consent evidence including opt-in IP address required on request.
Editorial independence This review was not commissioned or paid for by SocketLabs or Infobip. Read our editorial independence policy and our testing methodology.
A

Alaa Touil

Founder, SMTPedia

Runs the SMTPedia editorial testing lab. 10+ years hands-on with SMTP infrastructure, deliverability protocols, and ESP evaluation. Every review is based on his direct testing on real sending accounts.

Read more →
R

Rabeb

Reviewer, SMTPedia

Reviews all SMTPedia platform verdicts for editorial accuracy, sourcing rigor, and fair representation across price tiers and use cases.

Read more →

This review follows our email infrastructure testing methodology. We disclose affiliate relationships in our editorial independence policy.