SMTP2GO logo

How much does SMTP2GO cost in 2026?

Last verified Aug 27, 2026
Pricing TL;DR (Aug 2026), three fixed plans, and everything beyond them is overage
SMTP2GO sells Free (1,000 emails/month), Starter $15/mo (10,000), Professional $75/mo (100,000, dedicated IP included) and Premier above 3 million on quote. Annual billing is $150 and $750-two months free, 16.7% off. The critical thing to understand: the prices never change with your volume. The slider on their pricing page recommends a plan, it does not price one. Above your allowance you pay $1.20 per thousand on Starter and $0.85 on Professional, flat, forever. That makes SMTP2GO exactly competitive at 100,000 emails and progressively expensive above it.

What SMTP2GO actually costs in 2026

Read from smtp2go.com in August 2026. All prices USD, as the page states.

PlanMonthlyAnnualIncluded emailsExtra emails
Free$0$01,000/mo, capped at 200/dayNot permitted
Starter$15$15010,000/mo$1.20 / thousand
Professional$75$750100,000/mo$0.85 / thousand
PremierQuoteQuote3,000,000+/moCustom

Annual billing costs ten months for twelve on both paid plans: $150 instead of $180, and $750 instead of $900. That is a clean 16.7%, mid-table for the category and better than Campaign Monitor’s 10% or MailerLite’s 10%.

SMTP2GO also publishes an unconditional refund promise.
The pricing page reads: “Our Promise: If you don’t love us within 30 days, we’ll give you a full refund.” No qualifying conditions are attached on the page. Compare that to Mailjet, which states plainly that it does not offer refunds, and to ActiveCampaign, whose 30-day guarantee is worded around “guaranteed results” without defining what a result is.

The volume slider is a recommender, not a calculator

This is the single most misunderstood thing about SMTP2GO’s pricing, and it is easy to misread the page.

The pricing page opens with “How many emails do you send per month?” above a slider running from 1,000 to over 3 million. Every other provider in this category uses that control to price your plan. SMTP2GO does not.

We moved the slider to 50,000, 250,000, 500,000, 1 million and 3 million and read the plan cards at each position. The prices never changed. Free stayed at $0 for 1,000 emails, Starter at $15 for 10,000, Professional at $75 for 100,000, at every single position. The slider only changes which plan gets highlighted as recommended.

What that means for your bill

There is no volume tier between 10,000 and 100,000 emails, and none above 100,000 at all until Premier at three million. If you send 45,000 emails a month, you are not on a 45,000 plan, you are on the 10,000 plan paying overage on 35,000, or on the 100,000 plan wasting 55,000. If you send 400,000, you are on the 100,000 plan paying overage on 300,000. Your bill above the allowance is arithmetic, not a price tier, and that arithmetic has no volume discount in it.

The one number that decides Starter versus Professional: 60,000

Because overage is the mechanism, the choice between the two paid plans is a single break-even calculation.

Starter costs $15 and covers 10,000 emails, with extras at $1.20 per thousand. Professional costs $75 flat for 100,000. Setting those equal:

Monthly volumeStarter + overageProfessionalCheaper
10,000$15$75Starter
25,000$33$75Starter
40,000$51$75Starter
60,000$75$75Break-even
80,000$99$75Professional
100,000$123$75Professional

Sixty thousand emails a month is the line. Below it, Starter plus overage costs less. Above it, Professional is cheaper and throws in a dedicated IP, email testing tools and a lower overage rate. There is no scenario above 60,000 in which staying on Starter makes sense.

Between 10,000 and 60,000 emails, overage is genuinely the right answer.
That is unusual. On Mailgun, overage at $1.80 per thousand makes staying on a small plan the most expensive option above about 21,000 emails. On SMTP2GO the equivalent window runs to 60,000, because $1.20 per thousand is close enough to the plan rate that overspilling is not punished. A business at 35,000 emails a month pays $45 here without needing to change plan.

Above 100,000 emails, the discount stops entirely

Professional’s $0.85 per thousand applies from your 100,001st email to your three millionth. There is no further tier. This is where SMTP2GO’s model turns against you.

Monthly emailsSMTP2GOCompositionEffective cost per 1,000
100,000$75Professional, no overage$0.75
200,000$160$75 + 100 × $0.85$0.80
500,000$415$75 + 400 × $0.85$0.83
1,000,000$840$75 + 900 × $0.85$0.84

The unit cost gets worse as you grow, converging on the flat $0.85 overage rate. Every other provider we have priced moves the other way. That is the direct consequence of having no tier between 100,000 and three million.

Where SMTP2GO sits against the transactional field

Plan cost at matched volumes, against the providers already priced on this site.

Emails/monthSMTP2GOBirdResendMailgunMailjet
10,000$15$20$20$15$17
50,000$63$20$20$35$37
100,000$75$30$35$75$105
500,000$415$290$350$400$470
1,000,000$840$525$650QuoteQuote

The shape is clear. SMTP2GO is the cheapest of the group at 10,000 emails, competitive nowhere in the middle because of the missing tier, and 60% more expensive than Bird at a million.

The 50,000 row deserves a second look: SMTP2GO charges $63 where Bird and Resend both charge $20. That is not a rounding difference, it is three times the price, and it comes entirely from the gap between the 10,000 and 100,000 allowances.

Where SMTP2GO does win: 100,000 emails with a dedicated IP.
Professional includes one. Priced against the field for the same requirement:
ProviderPlanDedicated IPTotal at 100,000 emails
SMTP2GO Professional$75Included$75
Bird Premier$75Included, automated warmup$75
Mailgun Foundation$75Included at 100k+$75
Mailjet Premium$105Included at 100k+$105
Resend Scale$90Add-on $30$120

A three-way tie at exactly $75. At that specific requirement SMTP2GO is as good as anyone, and the decision moves to tooling and support rather than price.

The free plan runs the daily cap backwards, and cannot bill you

Every other free tier we have documented is constrained by its daily limit. SMTP2GO’s is constrained by its monthly one, which changes what you can do with it.

The free plan allows 1,000 emails a month with a 200 per day cap. Two hundred a day across thirty days would be 6,000, six times the monthly allowance. The daily cap is generous relative to the monthly one, which is the inverse of how Mailjet, Resend and Mailgun build theirs:

ProviderMonthlyDaily capDaily × 30Which binds first
SMTP2GO1,0002006,000Monthly, you can burst
Mailjet6,0002006,000Identical, no burst possible
Resend3,0001003,000Identical, no burst possible
Mailgun3,0001003,000Identical, no burst possible

Practically: on SMTP2GO’s free plan you can send a genuine 200-recipient campaign in one go and repeat it five times a month. On Mailjet, Resend or Mailgun free, a single burst that size consumes an entire day’s allowance and the monthly figure is unreachable unless you send the maximum every day. Less total volume, more usable shape.

And the free plan cannot generate a surprise bill.
The Free card states “Extra emails not permitted.” Where paid plans overspill into overage, the free plan simply stops. For anyone evaluating a provider, or running a hobby project they do not want attached to a card, that is a real feature rather than a limitation.

Two caveats on the free tier. Reporting retention is 5 days rather than the 30 you get on paid plans, so a bounce reported to you on Monday about a Tuesday send is already untraceable. And live chat and toll-free phone support are available for the first 14 days only; after that a free account is on ticket support alone.

What is included at every tier, including free

SMTP2GO gates far less than most of this category. Several things that cost money elsewhere are on every plan.

Unlimited SMTP usersOn every plan including Free, each with their own credentials.
Unlimited API keysOn every plan including Free.
SMTP relay and email APIBoth, on every plan.
SPF, DKIM, suppression and unsubscribe managementEvery plan.
Feedback loop monitoring, spamtrap detection, bounce and complaint dashboardsEvery plan.
Sandbox modeTest sending without delivering. Every plan.
IP authenticationAuthenticate by IP instead of SMTP credentials, for software that cannot do SMTP auth. Every plan.
Email auditingAutomatic BCC of every email sent by any user, for compliance. Every plan.
Open and click tracking with a custom tracking domainEvery plan.

What the paid plans add is retention (5 days to 30), support channels, subaccounts, SMS messaging, scheduled reporting, unlimited verified senders instead of 5, and up to 10 webhooks instead of 1. Professional adds the dedicated IP and email testing tools.

Unlimited SMTP users on a free account is not normal.
Most providers meter seats or logins somewhere. SMTP2GO gives unlimited SMTP credentials and API keys at every tier and only limits team members-the humans with dashboard access, to 2 on Free. For anyone connecting several applications or servers to one account, that distinction matters more than the seat count does.

Four add-ons, none of them priced

Activity Storage Duration ExtensionExtends activity retention from 30 days up to 2 years. Available on all plans. Price not published.
Email ArchivingStores copies of sent emails for compliance. Price not published.
Additional dedicated IPsProfessional includes one; more are available. Price not published.
Dedicated SMS sender numbersSMS is included as a capability on paid plans; dedicated numbers are purchased separately and the page states “additional charges apply”. Price not published.

Four named add-ons and four missing figures is a lot for a pricing page that is otherwise unusually clear. If retention beyond 30 days or archiving is a compliance requirement for you, the published price of SMTP2GO is not your price and you will need a quote before you can compare it to anything.

What real accounts pay

ProfileMonthlyCompositionThe point
Hobby project, 800 emails a month$0FreeCannot overspend, extra emails are blocked, not billed
Small SaaS, 9,000 transactional emails$15StarterCheapest of the whole field at this volume
Growing app, 35,000 emails$45Starter $15 + 25 × $1.20Overage is the correct answer up to 60,000
Same app at 70,000 emails$75ProfessionalStarter + overage would be $87
Platform sending 400,000 emails$330Professional $75 + 300 × $0.85Bird charges $290 at 500,000

Who should pay for what

Under 1,000 emails a month, or evaluatingFree. Unusually complete, cannot bill you, and 200 a day means you can send a real campaign. Chat and phone support end after 14 days.
Under 60,000 emails a monthStarter at $15, and let it overspill. Overage at $1.20 per thousand is mild enough that changing plan early costs you money.
Above 60,000 emailsProfessional at $75. Cheaper than Starter plus overage, and adds a dedicated IP, testing tools and a lower overage rate.
Exactly around 100,000 emails and you need a dedicated IPProfessional is as cheap as anyone. Three-way tie with Bird and Mailgun at $75. Decide on tooling, not price.
Between 30,000 and 80,000 emails, price-sensitiveCompare seriously. Bird and Resend both charge $20 at 50,000 where SMTP2GO charges $63.
Above 500,000 emailsLook elsewhere, or negotiate Premier. The flat $0.85 rate makes SMTP2GO 60% more expensive than Bird at a million.
You need retention beyond 30 days or archivingGet a quote first. Both are unpriced add-ons.

What SMTP2GO does not publish

  • All four add-on prices: activity storage extension, email archiving, additional dedicated IPs, dedicated SMS numbers.
  • SMS message rates. SMS is listed as a paid-plan capability with “additional charges apply” and no rate card.
  • Premier pricing, and anything above 3 million emails a month.
  • Whether any volume discount exists between 100,000 and 3 million. The published overage rate is flat; whether sales will improve on it is not addressed.
  • Team member limits on paid plans. Free is capped at 2; the paid figure is not stated on the pricing page.
  • What happens at the free plan’s ceiling. Extra emails are “not permitted”, but whether sending is queued, rejected or silently dropped is not described.

Frequently asked questions

How much does SMTP2GO cost in 2026?

Three self-serve plans plus Premier. Free at $0 for 1,000 emails a month capped at 200 a day, Starter at $15/mo or $150/year for 10,000, Professional at $75/mo or $750/year for 100,000 with a dedicated IP included, and Premier above 3 million emails on quote. Annual billing is two months free, a 16.7% discount. All prices are USD.

Does SMTP2GO price by volume?

No, and the pricing page is easy to misread on this. The slider asking how many emails you send per month recommends a plan; it does not price one. We moved it from 1,000 to over 3 million and the three plan prices never changed. There is no tier between 10,000 and 100,000 emails, and none above 100,000 until Premier at 3 million. Everything beyond your allowance is overage.

Should I choose SMTP2GO Starter or Professional?

The break-even is 60,000 emails a month. Starter is $15 for 10,000 with extras at $1.20 per thousand, so 60,000 emails costs exactly $75-the same as Professional. Below 60,000, stay on Starter and let it overspill. Above it, Professional is cheaper and also brings a dedicated IP, email testing tools and a lower $0.85 overage rate.

What is SMTP2GO’s overage charge?

$1.20 per thousand emails on Starter and $0.85 on Professional. The Free plan does not permit extra emails at all. These rates are mild by category standards. Mailgun charges $1.10 to $1.80-which is why overspilling Starter is rational up to 60,000 emails rather than the 21,000 crossover Mailgun forces.

Does SMTP2GO get cheaper at high volume?

No, it gets slightly more expensive. Professional’s $0.85 per thousand is flat from 100,001 emails to 3 million, so the effective unit cost rises from $0.75 per thousand at 100,000 towards $0.85 as you grow. At a million emails you pay about $840 against Bird’s $525 and Resend’s $650. Every other provider we have priced moves the other way.

Does SMTP2GO include a dedicated IP?

Yes, on Professional at $75 a month, which covers 100,000 emails. That is a three-way tie with Bird Premier and Mailgun Foundation, both also $75 with an IP at that volume, and it undercuts Resend Scale plus its $30 IP add-on at $120. Additional IPs are available but not priced on the page.

Can the SMTP2GO free plan bill me by accident?

No. The Free plan card states “Extra emails not permitted”-where paid plans overspill into overage, the free plan stops. It allows 1,000 emails a month with a 200 per day cap, no credit card required. What the page does not describe is exactly what happens when you hit the ceiling: whether sending is queued, rejected or dropped is not stated.

How does SMTP2GO’s free plan compare to Mailjet’s or Resend’s?

It gives less volume but a more usable shape. SMTP2GO allows 1,000 a month with a 200 daily cap, so 200 × 30 is six times the monthly allowance and you can send a real 200-recipient burst. Mailjet (6,000/month, 200/day), Resend (3,000/month, 100/day) and Mailgun (3,000/month, 100/day) all set their daily cap to exactly one thirtieth of the monthly figure, so the monthly number is unreachable unless you send the maximum every single day.

What does SMTP2GO include on the free plan?

More than most. SMTP relay and email API, unlimited SMTP users and unlimited API keys, SPF and DKIM, suppression and unsubscribe management, feedback loop monitoring, spamtrap detection, sandbox mode, IP authentication, email auditing by automatic BCC, and open and click tracking with a custom tracking domain. The limits are 1,000 emails a month, 5 verified senders, 1 webhook, 2 team members, 5 days of reporting, and chat and phone support for the first 14 days only.

Does SMTP2GO offer refunds?

Yes, and the wording is unusually open: “Our Promise: If you don’t love us within 30 days, we’ll give you a full refund.” No qualifying conditions appear on the pricing page. That contrasts sharply with Mailjet, which states it does not offer refunds, and with ActiveCampaign, whose 30-day guarantee is framed around “guaranteed results” without defining the term.

Changelog (recent)

    AAlaa Touil RRabeb How we test →

    This review follows our email infrastructure testing methodology. We disclose affiliate relationships in our editorial independence policy.