
The Best: One million emails included at $100, and rate limits published per API
The Worst: No free plan, a $100 floor, and billing on stored profiles
Customer.io inverts the usual bargain in this category. Everyone else meters your sending and gives away storage. Customer.io includes one million emails a month on its entry plan and charges you for the people. Essentials starts at $100 a month for 5,000 profiles, and profiles means people and objects, not just email addresses.
If you send a lot to a small, well-defined audience, that is the best deal on this site. A million emails is more than Brevo, MailerLite or Kit will give you at any price near $100. If your list is large and quiet, it is one of the worst, and the reviewers who complain say exactly why: “pricing model didn’t make sense for our growing company, pay for all contacts regardless if active.”
There is also no free plan at all. The only free route is a startup programme offering twelve months to companies that have raised under $10 million. Every other platform on this site except HubSpot Professional lets you start for nothing or for single digits.
What you get for the entry fee is the second-deepest automation we have reviewed and unusually good engineering documentation. Rate limits are published to the request per second, per API, which almost nobody in this category does. There are separate US and EU regions for every endpoint. And there is an official MCP server, in both regions, where “Each user authenticates with their own Customer.io login, and connections respect that user’s role and permissions.”
The right tool for a product team sending behavioural messages driven by their own event data, and the wrong tool for anyone thinking of it as an email platform. Check your profile count before your send volume; that is the number on the invoice.
Customer.io calls itself a customer engagement platform and the distinction is load-bearing. It ingests events and attributes from your product, builds segments from them, and sends across email, SMS, push, in-app messages, webhooks and Slack. Email is one output channel.
For this site the concrete consequence is that there is no SMTP relay. We checked the documentation twice and found no hostname and no port anywhere. Transactional messages go through an API endpoint, https://api.customer.io/v1/transactional/ with a Bearer token. There is a bring-your-own-MTA option for outbound sending, which requires contacting support to authenticate your domain, but that is you supplying a relay to Customer.io rather than Customer.io offering one to you.
If you arrived looking for somewhere to point an application’s SMTP client, this is the wrong page and Postmark, SMTP2GO or Resend are the right ones.
| Founded | Around 2012, by Colin Nederkoorn and John Allison. Headquartered in Portland, Oregon. |
|---|---|
| Funding | Series A led by Spectrum Equity with Oregon Venture Fund, announced March 2022. Amount not disclosed. The announcement cited ARR of $29.9m, up 78 percent year on year. |
| Positioning | “More impact from every message”, “The customer engagement platform trusted by 9,000+ brands” |
| Free plan | None. A startup programme offers “12 months of Customer.io free” to early-stage companies that have “Raised under $10M”. |
| Essentials | “starts at $100 per month” billed monthly, including “5k profiles (people + objects)” and “1 million emails per month” |
| Premium | “starts at $1,000 per month”, billed yearly |
| Enterprise | Quoted |
| Overage | Additional profiles $0.009 each. Additional emails $0.12 per 1,000. |
| SMTP relay | None. No hostname or port published anywhere. |
| Transactional | API only: POST to api.customer.io/v1/transactional/, Bearer token |
| Regions | US and EU for every API: track.customer.io / track-eu.customer.io and api.customer.io / api-eu.customer.io |
| Rate limits | Published precisely. Track API “1000 requests per second”. App API “limited to 10 requests per second”. Transactional shares a “soft rate limit of 3000 requests per 3 seconds”. API-triggered broadcast “limited to 1 request every 10 seconds”. |
| Payload limits | The entity endpoint accepts 32 KB, the batch endpoint 500 KB, event data 100,000 bytes. |
| Webhooks | Thirteen email event types plus equivalents for push, SMS, WhatsApp, Slack and webhook channels. HMAC-SHA256 signed, retried “over a period of 7 days with exponential backoff”. |
| Official MCP | Yes, in both regions: mcp.customer.io/mcp and mcp-eu.customer.io/mcp, OAuth with per-user permissions |
The Essentials plan includes one million emails a month at $100. Put that against the marketing platforms on this site and the comparison is not close: at $100 a month most contact-billed tools give you tens of thousands of sends, not a million. Overage, if you exceed it, is $0.12 per 1,000, which is cheap.
This is the right shape for a product that sends a lot to a defined user base: onboarding sequences, lifecycle nudges, weekly digests, activity notifications. If your ratio of messages to people is high, Customer.io is priced for you and almost nothing else is.
The corpus is unusually specific about capability rather than convenience. “Build data-driven campaigns across email, SMS, push, and more with fine control.” “Best at leveraging product data in emails … a key part of our workflow to detect and activate leads.” “Very performant, highly configurable … good tracking of comms.” One developer: “working with the API is easy, predictable, and maintainable … email for the 22nd century.”
On our scale only Klaviyo scores higher for automation, and Klaviyo is e-commerce specific. For a SaaS product driving messages from its own event stream, Customer.io is the deepest tool we have reviewed.
This is rarer than it should be and Customer.io does it better than anyone else in this project. The Track API takes 1,000 requests per second “for both active data integrations and historical backfill scripts”. The App API is 10 per second. Transactional shares a soft limit of 3,000 requests per 3 seconds. The API-triggered broadcast endpoint is 1 request every 10 seconds. Payload ceilings are stated per endpoint.
SendGrid publishes no numbers. Mailgun publishes no numbers. Kit publishes no numbers. Being able to size a backfill before you run it is worth real money.
Not just the API: the tracking host, the app host and the MCP server all have EU counterparts. Very few platforms in this project extend regional separation all the way to their AI integration, and for a European team with a data residency obligation that completeness matters more than any single feature.
Customer.io publishes official MCP servers at mcp.customer.io/mcp and mcp-eu.customer.io/mcp, authenticated with OAuth, and with a design decision worth quoting: “Each user authenticates with their own Customer.io login, and connections respect that user’s role and permissions.”
Most MCP implementations in this category authenticate with a single API key, which means the assistant inherits whatever that key can do regardless of who is sitting in front of it. Per-user OAuth with role inheritance is the correct answer and almost nobody else has built it.
Thirteen email event types, from email_drafted and email_attempted through delivered, opened, clicked, converted, bounced, dropped, spammed and undeliverable, with parallel sets for every other channel. Signed with HMAC-SHA256 over a timestamp and body, and retried “over a period of 7 days with exponential backoff”. The documentation is also honest about the limit: “We don’t backfill or replay webhook events that occurred while the webhook was disabled.”
The billing unit is profiles, defined as people plus objects, and it counts what is stored rather than what is active. Reviewers name the consequence directly. “Pricing model didn’t make sense for our growing company, pay for all contacts regardless if active.” “Bills based on number of customers.” “One of the cons would be pricing … too steep for larger customer lists.”
This is the same mechanism that draws the highest price-complaint share on this site over on Klaviyo, where 34 percent of the corpus objects to being billed on stored active profiles. Customer.io’s version is milder because a million emails come with it, but the direction is identical: your bill tracks your database, not your activity.
There is no free tier. The published entry point is $100 a month and Premium starts at $1,000 billed yearly. Across the 36 platforms on this site only HubSpot’s Professional tier, at $800 plus a required $3,000 onboarding fee, sets a higher barrier.
The corpus registers it as a barrier to arriving and a barrier to leaving. On arriving: “pricing which is a bit expensive when you’re starting out … big jump from free to paid” and “very expensive for a start up”. On leaving, a head of marketing writes that they could not recommend it because annual contract minimums prevented downgrading, and another notes being “unable to temporarily downgrade the plan”. A regulated buyer adds a specific one: “HIPAA version was very expensive to sign for a small start up.”
Capterra rates ease of use at 4.3, and the corpus explains the number precisely. “It requires a dedicated developer.” “Initial set up requires some help from a developer.” “Initial setup was quite complex because of what we wanted to do.” “UI can feel overwhelming at first, especially for non-technical users.” “Quite a bit of jargons in the dashboard, which can be a little confusing.”
None of this is surprising for an event-driven platform and all of it is a real cost. Budget engineering time alongside the subscription.
Search comes up repeatedly and specifically, which is unusual: “searching for past messages or editing templates isn’t intuitive”, “difficult to search for specific emails, UI not most intuitive, Template editing not straightforward”, and “could use more or better filtering and search options”. Three independent reviewers describing the same friction is a product gap rather than a preference.
The email builder is the weakest part of the product and reviewers say it plainly: “The lack of a WYSIWYG editor”, “creating emails part does get tedious at times … drag and drop builder isn’t the easiest … limited templates”, and one who reports being unable to duplicate templates between workspaces at all. If a marketer rather than an engineer will be building the emails, factor that in.
Capterra’s customer service sub-score is 4.5, comfortably above the category average, and page one of the corpus is full of praise: “Excellent customer support … answered within 24 hours”, “customer service is superb”, “customer support rocks”. Deeper in the corpus a different note appears: “customer service is poor, attention is very slow”, “slow customer support response times”, and one one-star review describing account validation problems with support unreachable.
Customer.io has never appeared in the seedlist inbox placement panel, which has since been discontinued. It does not publish bounce and complaint enforcement thresholds the way Amazon SES does, and it does not publish a service level commitment on sending the way SMTP2GO does. Log retention is not documented either; we looked and found no stated period.
What we have is a corpus that does not complain about placement, which is a weak positive, and a platform that sends a million emails a month per Essentials account without visible incident. That supports a middling score, not a high one.
Customer.io’s Capterra listing (product ID 174023) holds 87 reviews across four pages. Page one returned in near-verbatim form and pages two to four returned paraphrased by our extraction, so we quote only from page one and use the rest to confirm themes. Several reviewers appear on more than one page. G2 holds a much larger corpus at 900 reviews with no sub-scores displayed.
Expensive and worth it, with an unusual split. Customer.io’s price complaints cluster among startups and small teams while the enthusiasm clusters among product and engineering leaders at companies with real event data. That is a coherent picture: the tool is priced for the second group and discovered by the first.
Complex and powerful, said approvingly. Reviewers here describe complexity as the cost of capability rather than as a defect, which is not how they talk about it on HubSpot or GoHighLevel. “Very easy to use as well for how complex the software is.”
The platform is drifting toward being a CDP. One reviewer names it directly, describing the platform as becoming CDP-focused with the messaging surface degrading. Others note limited native CRM integrations and a pricing structure that “assumes clients are B2B businesses, not B2C”. Worth knowing if you are buying it primarily to send email.
Six categories, each out of 10, judged against the same evidence rules on every platform we cover. The overall is the unweighted arithmetic mean, rounded to one decimal: 6.0 + 9.0 + 7.0 + 7.5 + 4.0 + 9.0 = 42.5, divided by 6, equals 7.1.
Ease of use, 6.0. A Capterra ease sub-score of 4.3, several reviewers stating a developer is required, and three on one page describing search and template editing as unintuitive.
Automation, 9.0. The second highest on this site behind Klaviyo. Event-driven journeys across email, SMS, push, in-app, webhooks and Slack, with reviewers describing capability rather than convenience.
Deliverability, 7.0. No independent figure, no published enforcement thresholds, no stated log retention, and a corpus that does not complain about placement. Scored on absence of trouble rather than evidence of quality.
Support, 7.5. A 4.5 customer service sub-score and warm, specific praise, against a visible slower tail deeper in the corpus.
Pricing value, 4.0. The second lowest on this site after HubSpot’s 3.0. A $100 floor with no free plan, billing on stored profiles regardless of activity, and contract minimums that reviewers say prevent downgrading. The million included emails are the reason this is not lower.
API and MCP, 9.0. Rate limits published per API to the request per second, payload ceilings per endpoint, US and EU regions everywhere including MCP, signed webhooks with a seven-day retry, and an MCP server with per-user OAuth. Held below Resend’s 9.5 by the absence of any SMTP relay and undocumented log retention.
| Source | Score | Volume | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| G2 | 4.4 / 5 | 900 reviews | By far the larger corpus. No sub-scores displayed. |
| Capterra | 4.7 / 5 | 87 reviews | Ease of use 4.3, customer service 4.5, features 4.3, value for money 4.3. Product ID 174023. |
| Trustpilot | N/A | – | No verified listing found. |
| Inbox placement | No figure | – | Never included in the seedlist panel, which has since been discontinued. |
The 0.3 point gap between Capterra’s 4.7 and G2’s 4.4 runs in the direction we now expect across this whole project: the larger, more technical corpus rates lower. Read the G2 figure as the more reliable one on volume grounds alone.
The internal reading is more useful. All four Capterra sub-scores sit at 4.3 to 4.5, well below the 4.7 headline, and value for money at 4.3 is the joint lowest. That is the arithmetic signature of a product people rate highly in the abstract and find expensive and demanding in practice, which is exactly what the corpus says in words.
| Alternative | Our score | Take it instead if |
|---|---|---|
| Klaviyo | 7.3 | Your data is e-commerce rather than product events. Deeper still on automation and reporting, and billed on stored active profiles, which draws the highest price-complaint share in our dataset. |
| ActiveCampaign | 7.2 | You want serious automation without a $100 floor or an engineering dependency. It also posted the highest measured inbox placement in the last independent round at 94.2 percent. |
| Brevo | 7.7 | Your list is large and quiet. Brevo bills on sends rather than stored contacts, which inverts Customer.io’s economics, and it publishes an SMTP relay on an entry plan. |
A customer engagement platform founded around 2012 in Portland, Oregon, that sends behavioural messages across email, SMS, push, in-app, webhooks and Slack, driven by event and attribute data from your own product. It describes itself as “The customer engagement platform trusted by 9,000+ brands”. It is not an email service provider and it has no SMTP relay.
Essentials starts at $100 a month billed monthly and includes 5,000 profiles and one million emails a month. Premium starts at $1,000 a month billed yearly. Enterprise is quoted. Additional profiles cost $0.009 each and additional emails $0.12 per 1,000. Note that a profile means people plus objects, and you are billed on what is stored rather than what is active.
No. There is no free tier at any level. The only free route is a startup programme offering twelve months free to early-stage companies that have raised under $10 million. Alongside HubSpot, this is the highest barrier to entry among the platforms we review.
No. We checked the documentation twice and found no hostname and no port. Transactional messages are sent through an API endpoint with a Bearer token. There is a bring-your-own-MTA option for outbound sending that requires contacting support, but that is you supplying a relay rather than Customer.io offering one.
There are two, both with US and EU hosts. The Track API at track.customer.io uses HTTP basic authorisation and accepts 1,000 requests per second, including for historical backfill. The App API at api.customer.io uses a Bearer token and is limited to 10 requests per second, with the API-triggered broadcast endpoint capped at one request every ten seconds. Transactional sending shares a soft limit of 3,000 requests per three seconds.
Klaviyo if your data is e-commerce, because its integrations, reporting and revenue attribution are built for stores. Customer.io if your data is product events from a SaaS application. Both bill on stored profiles rather than activity, and both draw the same complaint for it. Klaviyo scores 7.3 with us against Customer.io’s 7.1, and the gap is mostly ease of use.
Klaviyo at 7.3 for e-commerce depth, ActiveCampaign at 7.2 for strong automation without the $100 floor or the engineering dependency, and Brevo at 7.7 if your list is large and quiet, since Brevo bills on sends rather than stored contacts. All three are reviewed here with the same six categories.
Yes, an official one in both regions, at mcp.customer.io/mcp and mcp-eu.customer.io/mcp. It authenticates with OAuth, and unusually each user signs in with their own Customer.io login so the connection inherits that person’s role and permissions rather than a shared key’s authority. Documentation covers Claude, Cursor, ChatGPT Codex and IDE clients. The transport is not stated in the documentation, so we do not state it either.
| Date | Change |
|---|---|
| 27 August 2026 | First publication. Four pages of the 87-review Capterra listing read, with quotation restricted to the page that returned verbatim text. Pricing, rate limits, payload ceilings, regional hosts, webhook events and both MCP endpoints verified twice against Customer.io’s documentation on this date. The absence of any SMTP hostname or port confirmed on two passes. MCP transport left unstated because the documentation does not name it. Search volumes measured for the United States. |
This review follows our email infrastructure testing methodology. We disclose affiliate relationships in our editorial independence policy.